This graceful and beautiful Lunar Moth was enjoyable to watch and photograph. It had a fixation on climbing my arm and camera equipment. I would set it down on a leave or the ground it just kept coming back for more..

It started out with its long rear wings but unfortunately in its attempts to travel hear and there it managed to loose them. But still the beauty within remained. This was a very fat egg riddin’ female as I discovered. In the process of photographing her she managed to lay a cluster of approx. 40 or so eggs before moving on to lay more elsewhere. She had an overall wingspan of 5 3/8″ making her one of the largest females I have seen in these parts for years. Here a few other shots..be sure to check my Facebook page album as well for more..

 

                     Playful………………………………………………………Wingspan

   

Dusk…………………………………………………….Egg Cluster

What a pleasure it was to watch, play with and enjoy  this gorgeous and elusive critter.

They are common in my area along the eastern US but are considered endangered in other regions, and are seldom seen in the daytime.